Shared Topic: Comments and Blogging

I’ve been a member over at Blog Azeroth for some time now and haven’t gotten around to using any of the shared topics, but this week’s really got me inspired to write something at least half decent for them. I don’t like to swing too self-serving, but this week’s topic is strangely appropriate:

One of the things that can make us happiest as bloggers is seeing e-mails notifying us of comments on our blogs. However, if we took that away – and the influence it may have over our writing – would we become better bloggers?

Would writing what it really is you want to write make you truer to the purpose that you started the blog for? To write exactly whatever is in your head, rather than worrying about whether or not anyone will find it “interesting” or “good enough” to comment on? For the joy of writing?

Or are comments integral to your blogging experience and if you don’t have them, you don’t write?

This has been something that I’ve discussed with my guild mates recently. You’ll see some of them posting here from time to time to give their take on some of the things that I’ve written. This is mainly because my blog link stares them in the face every time they see one of my posts on the forums (official and guild), but also because a lot of what I post about involves them directly.

When starting something new, especially on the internet with measurable results, you’re always looking to become an instant success. That is almost never the case. You check your stats to see how many have looked at your most recent post, you look at your average views over the past month. Every tiny increase is a small victory. It is a bit odd to have a post viewed several hundred times, externally linked, and not commented on.

Not a lot of comments have flown my way over the past two and half months. This makes the topic’s central question hard to answer. A lack of comments can generally mean a few things. It can mean your stuff just isn’t all that interesting and isn’t really worth commenting on. It can also mean that people don’t have anything to add or don’t find it appropriate to comment on your post.

In game I receive quite a bit of feedback. Most of the guild and a good number of folks on Zul’jin Alliance read Borsked, but to me that feels a little too much like Mom wanting her son to be a stand up comedian because he tells a lot of funny jokes at the family reunion. I appreciate the support and interest more than anyone can imagine, but as an engineer, a lot of what I do relies on peer review.

What do people detached from your current environment feel about what you’re doing? Do they think that it’s worthwhile? Do they have suggestions? The lack of this kind of feedback puts me on one path: keep doing what you know and ask for more feedback.

So I’ll keep doing what I do, writing about my experiences and how they reflect on being a healer, a leader, and a person in general (not General Chat!). Blogging for me is a lot about sharing my experiences with everyone and to give them the best view I can into the brain of the person with little crown next to their name in the raid panel.

Hopefully I can refine and get better at what I do to spur the kind of discussion in the WoW community that I think is sorely needed: some honest thoughts from traveled and experienced raiders.

The next entry in the Hidden Hard Modes series is on it’s way, I look forward to your comments on it. 🙂

3 Responses to Shared Topic: Comments and Blogging

  1. krovost says:

    Yay HHM soon!

    Coming from someone whos raid leading experience involves baggering and promising favors to enough people to throw together a voa or weekly raid quest, or inviting 23 people to a group telling them to go to the instance as I anxiously wait for borsk to log on and take over once every 3 months, I find the thought processes involved extremely enlightening. It may be because I’m privy to what you externalize in o chat or in vent during raids, but usually thats fleeting. Hearing in detail why you choose to do something a certain way or the challenges you face that you solve on your own that I wouldn’t normally hear about is what draws me in personally.

    A few months into your blog its natural (I imagine) that many of your readers are localized to Blood Red Moon or Zul’Jin Alliance. I mean lets face it if we jumped up a couple hundred world or US rankings youd be swimming in comments (again I’d imagine). Were just not big enough to instantly draw thousands of hits.

    Putting myself outside the box of someone who’s raided and “officered” with you for years (and ate your BBQ this previous weekend), Who am I to comment if I haven’t raid lead or even raided at this successful a level? What is there to debate when all of the information is new to me?

    I think the problem with having 200 page views and 0 comments is your blog is fun to read and has a lot of information worth absorbing, but its tough to relate to in as far as having something on topic to comment on.

    I’m not sure how you’d go about changing your dynamic to get more comments, but I would be happy if you stuck with writing what is worth reading (and absorbing) and not worrying so much about how many comments you get. No comments doesn’t have to mean the content isn’t interesting, it could just as easily mean there is very little to review critically.

  2. krovost says:

    for example, the when to use heroism thread you posted

    I could post a comment on where I think heroism should be used instead. I could say my guild uses heroism at 30% on rotface to help push through the faster spawning adds and kill it before we are overwhelmed.

    Then you could just say, no, like I said its best to use it at the start because you get more dps overall and the faster adds spawn over time not based on his hp.

    When you outline that sort of stuff, theres not a lot of room for commenting. You sort of have an AH, that does make sense I’ll incorporate that into my next raid, or pitch it to my raid leader and then tell him to visit your site.

    I suppose it’d be nice if that happened and someone said “oh hai broskded, that worked for us, thanks” but that sort of comment doesn’t really fan the fire of debate.

  3. Einah says:

    im commenting because i read it, and i dont want you to think this post was boring or uninteresting.

    CAN I HAZ COOKIE NAO?

Leave a Reply

