Shotgun Friday: And there was much rejoicing

I check the list. Rubber tubing, gas, saw, gloves, cuffs, razor wire, hatchet, Gladys, and my mitts. –Marv, Sin City

It’s been a roller coaster of a week. Starting with the always eventful US Independence Day celebration of cooking large chunks of animal while blowing things up. It ended succinctly with an announcement that had seemingly all 12.5 trillion (I think that’s the latest number out of Irvine) in an uproar over Real ID, player’s real names being attached to forum posts, and possibly having pizzas delivered thanks to trolls.

Un-Real ID

As quickly as the news of Real ID revealing your real name to the world via the Battle.net forums flared up, it was quickly put to rest today with a letter from Blizzard CEO Mike Morhaime.

I’m a player that falls into a demographic that is affected the least by this change. Even though I would have (as always) avoided the official forums, the counter-points to this new system were akin to weighing a duck boat against the U.S.S Enterprise.

The best analogy I’ve seen is one that compares Real ID to the locks on your front door. Just because you live by yourself in the country and can leave your door unlocked, doesn’t mean it’s a good idea for your best friend that lives downtown to do the same.  But that’s all I’m going to say regarding this exhausted topic. It’s over, let’s all move on.

But wait…

Do we really applaud Blizzard for repealing the change? For all intents and purposes, the game is as it was last week before this announcement. They decided to implement an extremely controversial and poorly thought out idea, defended it for several days, and then chose not to put it in. Yes, I agree, Blizzard has done the right thing in listening to their community. They’ve always had their player-base in mind when making big decisions.

So, again, why make it in the first place? It’s like a kid that stole from the corner grocery and returned the items when his parents found them under his bed. “Thank you for being honest, Billy…you do that again and you’re never allowed in my store again.”

Real names will still be available via “Friend of Friend” in game, but remember, Real-ID friending is a two-way street. While doing things like “friending all females” on someones friends list can be annoying, but it isn’t nearly as intrusive. Decline all friend requests from people you don’t know, and only send friend requests to trusted friends. I’m more in favor of the online system, though I do agree that there should be more options on visibility.

One thing’s for sure, you can expect a lot of jokes and snide comments from the Blizzard team at Blizzcon ’10 regarding Real ID.

RESTO.CAN’T.DUAL.WIELD

Who cares? What the hell is the difference between using a 1 Hand + Shield or 2 1-Handers if you’re healing? You’re going to use whatever the best anyways, so it’s not really a play-style choice like it is for a DK or Warrior.

Calm down, heathens.

The new 31 point talent trees will be an outstanding change for new players. In my spare time this Summer I’ve been leveling an Orc Shaman on the desolate Moonrunner server (Duraku). I only wanted to use one set of heirlooms so I chose to level as Elemental/Restoration. Up until level 30 there is seemingly no difference between the two specs even if you throw all of your points into either tree. Since I was looking to heal dungeons and DPS (pre-level 40, dual-talent specialization), I split my points between elemental and enhancement. If I was new to the game this would be completely lost on me as a player, but such is the benefit of having played a Shaman for the past 2 years.

What I’m hoping to see is a tree where a player can take whatever path they want to their 31 pointer and still get the most out of their total output. Being able to customize my toolkit for my healing style is something that I’ve always wanted.

Totem Recall

Totem Recall: Shaman Round-Table, sponsored by Raidwarning.net

I’ll be joined my fellow Zul’jinite Lodur and Life In Group 5 blogger Vixsin Sunday. The show, unfortunately, will not be a live broadcast but you’ll be able to download the full, 3-panel, round-table later in the week.

If you have any Restoration Shaman related questions feel free to send them to me via Twitter, Email, or in the comments and I’ll be sure to add them into our show notes and get them answered. The questions that have already been submitted are excellent and should make for some great debate/discussion. Hopefully I don’t have to go to my notes too often during this!

World Cup

Championship: The Orange vs. The Red Fury

Third Place: Deutschland vs. La Celeste

I’m a lot more interested in the 3rd place match, not surprisingly. Forlan, Suarez, Klosse, Podolski, Sweinsthnersnsdngaoer. The world cup this year might have finally got me turned on to soccer. I might have to more closely follow the Premiere League next season.

Six weeks until football season. The other football.

Leave a Reply

